Honey is a viscous, sweet liquid that honeybees produce.

Many people like it as a sweetener, in tea, or on bread.

You might be wondering whether all forms of honey are okay to eat if you avoid gluten for health or other reasons are given the wide variety of varieties of honey available on the market.

This article discusses the production process for honey, whether it is gluten-free, and recommended brands.



Gluten is naturally absent from honey.

✅ However, certain flavored or specialized honey may contain gluten-containing substances.

If honey is produced in a facility that also processes foods containing gluten, honey may become gluten-cross-contaminated.

It’s always a good idea to carefully read the label or choose products that have been certified gluten-free if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to prevent unintentionally consuming gluten.

How is honey produced?

Honey is made from floral nectar that honeybees collect. The nectar inside the beehive is then continually consumed, digested, and regurgitated by the bees to create honey. When the comb is filled, they continue to add honey to the hexagonal beeswax comb in this manner.

The bees seal the comb with wax after it is full. Beekeepers then collect it to extract the honey. The source of the plant, the method of extraction, and the manner in which the honey has been treated or preserved all affect the type of honey.

Despite the fact that the nutritional value of honey varies depending on the variety, 1 tablespoon (21 grams) of honey typically contains 64 calories, 17 grams of carbohydrates, and almost no protein, fiber, or fat. It is a dense source of healthy plant components and antioxidants but only includes trace levels of certain micronutrients.


Does honey have gluten in it?

A family of proteins known as gluten is present in several cereal grains. The elastic and stretchy structure of dough is provided by these proteins.

While the majority of people can tolerate gluten without experiencing any negative effects, those who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity must avoid it. This entails avoiding cereals that contain gluten, such as wheat, barley, rye, and triticale, a hybrid grain made from wheat and rye.

Oat products that have been cross-contaminated or produced in a facility that also produces grains containing gluten may likewise contain gluten.

Since none of these grains are utilized in its manufacturing, honey is inherently gluten-free. However, if honey is processed in a facility that also creates foods containing gluten, there may be a risk of cross-contamination.


Some brands might include gluten.

Although naturally gluten-free, some products with a honey flavor may contain this family of proteins. Some specialized honey, for instance, may have extra components like flavorings or additions that may contain gluten.

Additionally, if a product isn’t marked gluten-free, honey-based salad dressings or dipping sauces with a honey flavor, such as honey mustard, can contain gluten.

A honey product might not be gluten-free even though it doesn’t contain any gluten-containing ingredients. The cause of this is cross-contamination. During processing, honey produced in a factory that also makes foods containing gluten may pick up gluten.


How to choose honey free of gluten

Reading the label completely is the best way to determine if your honey is free of gluten. The Item and Drug Administration (FDA) mandates that any food with the labels “gluten-free,” “no gluten,” “free of gluten,” or “without gluten” must have a gluten content of under 20 parts per million (ppm).

The majority of people who follow a gluten-free diet can safely consume this level because it is the lowest reliably identified. Labeling a product as gluten-free is optional, though. As a result, even when the product is gluten-free, certain honey or honey products may not have this marking.

It is always a good idea to check the ingredient list for substances that can contain gluten. The item is not gluten-free if it contains wheat, barley, rye, or anything produced from those grains. You can also look for allergy claims on the label. Food manufacturers are legally compelled to list common allergies, such as wheat, on the label.


The following companies make gluten-free honey:

  • Local Fischer’s
  • Mike’s Hot Honey
  • Sioux Honey
  • Capilano
  • Nature Nate’s
  • GloryBee
  • Bee Harmony
  • L.R. Rice
  • Gunter’s

These are just a few of the brands that are gluten-free. You may always contact businesses directly to enquire about their ingredients and manufacturing procedures if you’re not sure if your honey is gluten-free.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This